Local:
Sydney: Mon 5:07PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney5:07PM Mon21°
Melbourne5:07PM Mon27°
Brisbane4:07PM Mon26°
Perth2:07PM Mon31°
Adelaide4:37PM Mon
Hobart5:07PM Mon22°
Canberra5:07PM Mon18°
Darwin3:37PM Mon32°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

$24bn of new homes for Australia

26 November 2015 by News Desk

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOver $24bn of new homes were constructed in Australia between July and September this year.

Latest figures show a 6.4% rise compared to the same three months in 2014. Across the country, a total of $49bn of construction work was completed.

The main residential construction hotspots are Victoria, New South Wales and Melbourne with Australia’s house-building boom driven this year by a growing population and low interest rates.

Building work in the “other residential” sector (apartments, units, townhouses) is at record highs in Victoria, New South Wales, Queensland, and Western Australia, with Brisbane and Melbourne in particular seeing major growth in high rise apartments.

While residential construction has risen, there has been a 1.9% fall in non-residential building. Engineering construction also slowed in the three month period. The total value of engineering construction work between July and September was $25 billion, with $2bn spent a major LNG project in the Northern Territory.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies.
Cookie Policy Privacy policy