100,000 jobs for New South Wales • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 9:46AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:46AM Fri13°
Melbourne9:46AM Fri14°
Brisbane9:46AM Fri18°
Perth7:46AM Fri16°
Adelaide9:16AM Fri
Hobart9:46AM Fri12°
Canberra9:46AM Fri
Darwin9:16AM Fri27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

100,000 jobs for New South Wales

01 October 2015 by News Desk

sydney03New South Wales in Australia has been a magnet for jobs growth over the past 12 months.

More than 105,000 jobs have been created across the state in the past year, with Sydney the powerhouse of wider economic growth.

Sydney and New South Wales have the strongest jobs growth and the lowest unemployment rate in Australia. It also boasts the fastest-rising retail sales and most rapidly expanding economy in the country.

Much of the jobs growth has been stimulated by a massive state government project to improve infrastructure across the state.

New South Wales Premier Mike Baird won re-election in March with a plan to raise $14 billion from sales of electricity assets to fund railways, roads, schools and hospitals.

Infrastructure is desperately needed to cope with Sydney’s rising population. It includes $30 billion for new motorways and rail projects in Sydney along with $8 billion for schools and hospitals. There is also a plan to sell leases on prime harbourside sites and use $200 million of the proceeds to upgrade the city’s central ferry terminal.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy