1.4 million new jobs for Perth • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 10:03AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:03AM Thu20°
Melbourne10:03AM Thu14°
Brisbane10:03AM Thu24°
Perth8:03AM Thu18°
Adelaide9:33AM Thu
Hobart10:03AM Thu14°
Canberra10:03AM Thu14°
Darwin9:33AM Thu29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

1.4 million new jobs for Perth

19 December 2015 by News Desk

PERTH WAOver 1.4 million new jobs will be created in Perth, Australia, in coming years, according to a new government report.

A predicted huge increase in population will also require the building of 800,000 new homes according to Western Australia’s Planning Minister John Day who says that W.A.’s population is expected to increase to 3.5 million by 2050.

Darrell Todd, CEO of thinkingaustralia, says: “This new government forecast is good news for potential migrants seeking to live and work in Western Australia. Tens of thousands of construction workers alone will be needed to meet the growing demand for new homes, and many more will be needed to meet increased demand in health, education and service industries”.

In the Central Sub-Region – including Stirling, Bayswater, Bassendean, Cambridge, Vincent, Nedlands, Subiaco, Perth, Cottesloe, Claremont, Peppermint Grove, Mosman Park, Fremantle, East Fremantle, Melville, Canning, South Perth, Victoria Park and Belmont – the population is forecast to increase from 780,000 to 1.2 million and 215,000 new homes will be needed. 780,000 new jobs will need to be created.

In the North West Sub-Region – including the cities of Joondalup and Wanneroo – an additional 168,793 new homes will be required as the population is expected to more than double from 322,486 to 740,318.

In the North East Sub-Region – including the City of Swan and the shires of Mundaring and Kalamunda – the population will more than double from 209,156 to 450,590. An additional 102,554 new homes will be needed and the area will need 187,986 new jobs.

In the South Metropolitan Sub-Region – including the cities of Armadale, Cockburn, Gosnells, Kwinana, Mandurah and Rockingham and the shires of Murray, Serpentine-Jarrahdale and Waroona – the population is set to increase from 523,406 to 1.26 million and an additional 302,177 new homes will be needed, with 437,725 new jobs created.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy