World Records from Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 10:33PM
Select Destination
LocationTimeTemp
Sydney10:33PM Thu18°
Melbourne10:33PM Thu12°
Brisbane9:33PM Thu22°
Perth7:33PM Thu16°
Adelaide10:03PM Thu11°
Hobart10:33PM Thu10°
Canberra10:33PM Thu10°
Darwin9:03PM Thu29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

World Records from Australia

27 January 2016 by News Desk

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThere is more to Australia than jobs, good weather and sunny beaches – it’s also a country of record-breakers.

To celebrate this weeks’ Australia Day here’s a few world records won Down Under in 2015, according to Guinness World Records.

Largest surfing lesson (single venue) – In December, retailer RedBalloon staged the world’s largest surfing lesson, with participants dressed up as Santa Claus. 320 surfers took part in the 30 minute lesson on Bondi Beach to gain a new World Record.

Most wool sheared from a sheep (single shearing) – On 3 Sept 2015, a sheep in New South Wales was given a record-breaking haircut. It took 45 minutes to remove the world’s biggest fleece – at 41.10 kg it was eight times larger than average.

Fastest ball bowled in a Test match – Australia’s Mitchell Starc delivered a ball at 160.4 km/h (99.66 mph) during a Test match between Australia and New Zealand at the WACA in Perth, Australia, on 15 Nov 2015.

Fastest tennis ball caught – Also in celebration of GWR Day 2015, Anthony Kelly caught the world’s fastest tennis ball in Sydney, New South Wales. The ball reached a speed of 192.9 kmh (119.86 mph).

First human head re-attached – In Oct 2015, 16-month-old Jaxon Tylor became the first person to have his head re-attached following a car accident. The operation was carried out at Lady Cilento Children’s Hospital in Brisbane, Australia by Dr Geoffry Askin and a 20-strong medical staff.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy