World prize for Melbourne Day • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 6:41AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney6:41AM Tue14°
Melbourne6:41AM Tue
Brisbane6:41AM Tue15°
Perth4:41AM Tue10°
Adelaide6:11AM Tue
Hobart6:41AM Tue
Canberra6:41AM Tue
Darwin6:11AM Tue25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

World prize for Melbourne Day

18 August 2015 by News Desk

sport_JasonDay_golfGolfer Jason Day from Melbourne, Australia, has won his first major world title with a record score at the US PGA Championship.

Day, who comes from Melbourne in Queensland, scored 20 under par to record the lowest-ever total at one of golf’s four major contests.

The 27 year-old Australia player, ranked number five in the world, beat a string of top players including UK’s Rory McIlroy, South African Branden Grace and Masters and US Open champion Jordan Spieth, who finished in second place.

Jason Day had previously achieved nine Top-10 finishes in the major tournaments, six in the top four. His final score of 20 under par at the US Open broke Tiger Woods’ major record of 19 under at the 2000 Open Championship.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy