Winter comes to Hobart • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 8:17AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:17AM Tue17°
Melbourne8:17AM Tue
Brisbane7:17AM Tue20°
Perth5:17AM Tue16°
Adelaide7:47AM Tue
Hobart8:17AM Tue
Canberra8:17AM Tue11°
Darwin6:47AM Tue26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Winter comes to Hobart

11 July 2015 by News Desk

winter1Frost and ice has blanketed Hobart as winter arrives in Tasmania.

Hobart has experienced one of its coldest July mornings in over a decade. The temperature dropped to 0C in Hobart, the lowest July reading since 2001.

The temperature is well below the minimum July average of 5C and is also the coldest in Hobart for two years. The lowest temperature recoded in the state was -9C. In the South, the lowest temperatures were at Tunnack (-6C), the Derwent Valley (-7C), Bushy Park and Geeveston (-4C), and Grove (-3C).

The Bureau of Meteorology says that temperatures will drop to 1C in Hobart at night so motorists should take extra care on icy roads in the evenings and early mornings.

Fine days are forecast for the coming days but early mornings could be frosty and, as some areas will not get the sunshine, there may be some ice early in the evenings. Showers are forecast for the weekend.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy