Visitors spend $3.7bn in Melbourne • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 7:05AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:05AM Tue14°
Melbourne7:05AM Tue
Brisbane7:05AM Tue15°
Perth5:05AM Tue10°
Adelaide6:35AM Tue
Hobart7:05AM Tue
Canberra7:05AM Tue
Darwin6:35AM Tue25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Visitors spend $3.7bn in Melbourne

30 September 2015 by News Desk

travel_quantas_01There’s been a 10% rise in the number of visitors to Melbourne, Australia where tourism now generates almost $4bn each year.

Confirming Melbourne’s status as one of the world’s top cities, visitors spent $3.7 billion during their stay over the past 12 months, with a big increase in the number of tourists visiting the state than in 2014.

Recently awarded the title of the world’s most liveable city for the fifth consecutive year, Melbourne is Australia’s number one holiday destination for overnight interstate visitors while international overnight visitors increased by more than 10% for the 12 months to September 2014.

Visitors to other parts of the state including Greater Melbourne generated a total of $8.5 billion in tourist dollars for the wider economy.

Based on data from 2012-13, the research shows business events are worth $1.2 billion each year to the Victorian economy and 200,000 people are employed in the state’s tourism sector that contributes $20 billion to Victoria’s economy.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy