Taking a dog to Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 8:41AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:41AM Tue17°
Melbourne8:41AM Tue12°
Brisbane7:41AM Tue23°
Perth5:41AM Tue16°
Adelaide8:11AM Tue
Hobart8:41AM Tue10°
Canberra8:41AM Tue12°
Darwin7:11AM Tue26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Taking a dog to Australia

20 May 2015 by News Desk

dogsDogs and other pets are allowed into Australia but subject to strict import conditions. The Department of Agriculture is the Australian Government authority that manages animal imports and its basic rules state:

Import conditions for dogs have been developed to protect Australia from a number of pests and diseases including rabies, ehrlichia, leishmania, leptospirosis and internal and external parasites. These diseases are not present in Australia and some can affect people.

Dogs imported to Australia must be accompanied by a valid import permit, and have undergone relevant testing and health checks signed off by a government veterinarian from the exporting country.

Dogs must do a minimum 10 days in a government quarantine facility once arriving in Australia. This quarantine period is dependent on meeting Australia’s strict pre-import requirements, which vary by exporting country. This may be extended if the dog shows any signs of ill health or any other issues of biosecurity concern.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy