Sydney Light Rail makes tracks • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Wed 2:10AM
Select Destination
LocationTimeTemp
Sydney2:10AM Wed11°
Melbourne2:10AM Wed11°
Brisbane2:10AM Wed12°
Perth12:10AM Wed
Adelaide1:40AM Wed12°
Hobart2:10AM Wed11°
Canberra2:10AM Wed
Darwin1:40AM Wed22°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Sydney Light Rail makes tracks

16 August 2016 by News Desk

Sydney Light Rail chiefs laid the first light rail track into the ground in Kensington.

Sydney Light RailSydney Light Rail chiefs asked NSW Premier Mike Baird and Minister for Transport and Infrastructure Andrew Constance to pour the concrete to cement the tracks in place.

The concrete pouring for the track slab completed the process of the first track installation for the project.

More than half of the 12 kilometre light rail route is expected to be under construction by next week, with work underway in 15 of the 31 zones.

Sydney Light Rail will move up to 13,500 customers in both directions between 7am and 7pm and when combined with express and local bus services, will bring increased transport capacity of up to 30 per cent in the morning peak.

Sydney Light Rail makes tracks

The CBD and South East Light Rail is a new light rail network for Sydney. The 12km route will feature 19 stops, extending from Circular Quay along George Street to Central Station, through Surry Hills to Moore Park, then to Kensington and Kingsford via Anzac Parade and Randwick via Alison Road and High Street.

Sydney Light Rail also incorporates the Inner West Light Rail, which is now operating as the L1 Dulwich Hill Line.

Construction will be completed in 2018 and services will start running in 2019.

Once complete, the high capacity service will move up to 13,500 customers in both directions between 7am and 7pm and when combined with express and local bus services, will bring increased transport capacity of up to 30 percent in the peak morning rush hour.

Sydney Light Rail will feature high frequency ‘turn up and go’ light rail services operating up to every four minutes in the peak.

Reliable and high-capacity services with additional special event services between Central and the Moore Park and Alison Road stops.

A one-kilometre pedestrian zone along George Street, between Hunter and Bathurst streets, providing new opportunities for outdoor dining, creative spaces and entertainment.

A fleet of electric-powered light rail vehicles with air conditioning and accessible low-floor design.

Transport for NSW has confirmed the CBD and South East Light Rail will be completed and operating in 2019.

Learn more: http://www.transport.nsw.gov.au/

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

 



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy