Student Visas Fall • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 3:13AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney3:13AM Mon17°
Melbourne3:13AM Mon20°
Brisbane3:13AM Mon20°
Perth1:13AM Mon13°
Adelaide2:43AM Mon
Hobart3:13AM Mon15°
Canberra3:13AM Mon12°
Darwin2:43AM Mon27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Student Visas Fall

13 May 2020 by News Desk

The number of people visiting Australia on a Student Visa fell by over 11 per cent in March.

Of all arrivals to Australia travelling on an international student visa in March 2020, there was a Decrease of 11,790 students (-16%) compared to the same month in the previous year, according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics
International students

The outbreak of COVID-19 which started in China in December 2019, has continued to disrupt the movement of international students this month, due to the introduction of travel restrictions from February 2020.

In 2019, China was the largest source country nationally. Educational exports are an important contributor to the Australian economy.

Of all arrivals to Australia travelling on an international student visa in March 2020, there was a decrease of 11,790 students (-16%) compared to the same month in the previous year.

The only numeric increase was for: the Schools sector, with 170 more students (25%)

The highest numeric decreases were for: the Higher Education sector, with 5,230 fewer students (-10%) the Vocational Education and Training sector, with 3,170 fewer students (-35%) the Independent ELICOS sector, with 2,300 fewer students (-49%) according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics

Are you thinking about living, working or studying in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry/

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy