Fall in Overseas Visitors • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 9:19PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:19PM Sun13°
Melbourne9:19PM Sun
Brisbane9:19PM Sun14°
Perth7:19PM Sun16°
Adelaide8:49PM Sun
Hobart9:19PM Sun
Canberra9:19PM Sun
Darwin8:49PM Sun27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Fall in Overseas Visitors

12 May 2020 by News Desk

Australia has recorded its largest ever drop in overseas visitors with arrivals falling 60 per cent in March 2020 compared to a year earlier.

There was also a record fall in the number of Australian residents returning from short-term trips overseas, down 29 per cent to 538,400.

These large decreases reflect the travel restriction progressively put in place by the Australian Government from the beginning of February due to the outbreak of COVID-19.

“In March 2020, there were 331,900 visitors who had arrived for a short-term trip compared to 836,300 12 months earlier,” ABS Director of Migration Statistics Jenny Dobak said.

All states and territories recorded large falls in international visitors.

Although New South Wales led the way with the largest volume of international arrivals (114,500 visitors), numbers were down 64 per cent compared to one year earlier.

The Northern Territory saw the largest fall (-66 per cent).

Queensland also saw a steep decline in visitor numbers (-63 per cent) followed by Victoria (-58 per cent); South Australia (-54 per cent); Western Australia (-53 per cent); Tasmania (-51 per cent); and the ACT (-43 per cent) according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry/

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy