Smoking ban in Queensland • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 7:54PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:54PM Sun13°
Melbourne7:54PM Sun10°
Brisbane7:54PM Sun17°
Perth5:54PM Sun18°
Adelaide7:24PM Sun
Hobart7:54PM Sun
Canberra7:54PM Sun
Darwin7:24PM Sun31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Smoking ban in Queensland

17 October 2015 by News Desk

smoking01Officials in Queensland, Australia, are taking further steps to ban smoking in public places.

New laws are being drafted to ban smoking in and around childcare centres, children’s sporting events, bus stops and other areas. It is already illegal to smoke inside pubs, clubs, restaurants and workplaces in Queensland. Lighting up is also banned at major sports stadiums, outdoor eating areas and patrolled beaches.

Queensland Health Minister Cameron Dick said the additional laws are needed because more than 3700 Queenslanders were still dying each year because of smoking. Cancer Council Queensland chief executive Professor Jeff Dunn said the laws would be a positive step towards a smoke-free state.

The laws, which are being drafted, are expected to be introduced into the parliament next month.

NEW SMOKING LAWS FOR QUEENSLAND:

Smoking is banned at or near children’s organised sporting events, childcare centres, skate parks, aged care facilities, pedestrian precincts near state government buildings, national parks, public swimming pools, outdoor pedestrian malls and public transport waiting points like bus stops;

Smoke-free buffers to be increased from four metres to five metres outside government, commercial and non-residential buildings;

Local councils empowered to ban smoking in other public spaces; and
Ban on sales of tobacco products by pop-up retailers like those at music festivals.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy