Rise in Australia health spending • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 11:14PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:14PM Fri17°
Melbourne11:14PM Fri12°
Brisbane11:14PM Fri20°
Perth9:14PM Fri16°
Adelaide10:44PM Fri
Hobart11:14PM Fri17°
Canberra11:14PM Fri10°
Darwin10:44PM Fri25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Rise in Australia health spending

12 December 2015 by News Desk

health_pillsSpending on health products and services in Australia has increased.

And the number of prescriptions dispensed has increased by 6.3%, the highest rate of growth over the past decade, according to the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare.

According to latest available figures $58.8 billion was spent on Hospitals, $54.7 billion on Primary health care and $32.0 billion on other health goods and services in 2013-14.

Darrell Todd of thinkingaustralia says: “The continuing expansion of Australia’s health sector is positive news for trained and qualified individuals seeking to work or migrate to Australia.”

Un-referred medical services such as visits to a general practitioner accounted for the greatest share of Primary health care funding at 19.3%.
‘This was in contrast to earlier in the decade, when benefit-paid pharmaceuticals attracted the most spending in the primary health care sector,’ said AIHW spokesperson Dr Adrian Webster.

Spending on benefit-paid pharmaceuticals slowed over the last three years, despite a steady increase in the number of prescriptions dispensed. In 2013-14, the growth in benefit-paid pharmaceuticals expenditure was 1.0% in real terms, compared with a 6.3% growth in the number of prescriptions dispensed (the highest in the decade).



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy