Rents fall in Darwin and Perth • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 2:44AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney2:44AM Fri14°
Melbourne2:44AM Fri
Brisbane2:44AM Fri16°
Perth12:44AM Fri18°
Adelaide2:14AM Fri
Hobart2:44AM Fri
Canberra2:44AM Fri
Darwin2:14AM Fri26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Rents fall in Darwin and Perth

06 August 2015 by News Desk

economy_graph2The cost of renting a home in Darwin and Perth has fallen in the past year but costs have risen in other capital cities.

House rents in Darwin have fallen by 3.3% in the past 12 months to an average of $580 while units (apartments) have dropped 6.1% to $465. The cost of renting a house in Perth has also fallen, by 4.3% to $445, and rents on units have dropped 4.6% to $420.

Rents in other capital cities across Australia have increased compared to the previous year, according to new statistics. Across the country, national average rent for houses increased by 3.6% to $430 in June, while the average for units has increased by 2.4%.

Sydney recorded the highest rental growth, with houses up 12.4% to $680 and units up 6.7% to $560.

Hobart has seen a rise of 4.4% for house rents to $360 and 3.6% for units to $285.

Melbourne saw rents rise 3.4% for houses to $455 and 1.3% for units to $400.

In the Australian Capital Territory, rents have risen by 3.1% for houses to $500, while units have increased 1.3% to $405.

Brisbane house rents are up by 2.3% to $450, while unit rents remain unchanged at $380.

Adelaide has seen modest growth of 1.4% for houses to $370 and 1.7% for units to $305, according to Onthehouse Data.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy