No yearly rise in Australia jobless • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 10:24PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:24PM Fri20°
Melbourne10:24PM Fri16°
Brisbane9:24PM Fri23°
Perth7:24PM Fri21°
Adelaide9:54PM Fri
Hobart10:24PM Fri12°
Canberra10:24PM Fri16°
Darwin8:54PM Fri30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

No yearly rise in Australia jobless

07 August 2015 by News Desk

job_vacancy_01The number of people out of work in Australia is expected to remain unchanged this year, at 6.1% of the population.

Unemployment figures across the country for July vary from state to state, with a fall in the number of jobless workers in South Australia (7.9%) and a small rise in other states, according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

6.4% of the working population in Western Australia were jobless in July while the figure in Queensland is 6.5% and Tasmania 6.6%. Only South Australia saw a fall in the number of jobless workers. But government officials expect a turnaround in conditions over coming months.

Employment Minister Gail Gago said: “Analysts all predict a slow fall in unemployment over the next 12 months. But we can’t afford to become complacent. We’ve got a lot of challenges still ahead”.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy