Record Surplus for Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 8:43AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:43AM Thu13°
Melbourne8:43AM Thu12°
Brisbane8:43AM Thu17°
Perth6:43AM Thu
Adelaide8:13AM Thu
Hobart8:43AM Thu15°
Canberra8:43AM Thu
Darwin8:13AM Thu21°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Record Surplus for Australia

02 September 2020 by News Desk

Australia’s current account surplus in seasonally adjusted terms increased $8.7 billion to $17.7 billion in the June quarter 2020, driven mainly by increased goods and services surplus, according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

Branko Vitas, Program Manager of the International Statistics Branch said: “The balance on goods and services surplus in the June quarter 2020 was $23.9 billion, a rise of $4.7 billion on the March quarter 2020 surplus of $19.1 billion. Exports of goods and services fell $9.3 billion (8 per cent) and imports of goods and services fell $14.0 billion (14 per cent). The net primary income deficit narrowed by $4.3 billion to $5.6 billion in the June quarter 2020”.

Goods and services

In volume terms, imports fell more than exports this quarter, and as a result international trade is expected to contribute 1.0 percentage points to growth in the June quarter 2020 Gross Domestic Product. In seasonally adjusted chain volume terms, the balance on goods and services surplus increased $5.0 billion, widening the surplus to $15.6 billion.

On the imports side, travel services fell $8.2 billion and transport services fell $1.2 billion in original terms, while non-industrial transport equipment fell $2.7 billion and fuels and lubricants fell $1.2 billion in seasonally adjusted terms. On the exports side, travel services fell $6.3 billion and transport services fell $0.9 billion in original terms, while coal, coke and briquettes fell $1.3 billion and metal ores and minerals rose $1.2 billion in seasonally adjusted terms.

International investment

Australia’s net international investment position was a liability of $910.6 billion at 30 June 2020, an increase of $59.3 billion (7 per cent) on the revised 31 March 2020 position of $851.3 billion

Australia’s net foreign equity assets decreased $134.4 billion to $182.9 billion. Australia’s net foreign debt liability decreased $75.2 billion to $1,093.5 billion at 30 June 2020.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news

For a range of official government information about Australia, visit https://www.Australia.gov.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies.
Cookie Policy Privacy policy