New Zealand South Island
Local:
Sydney: Fri 10:43PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:43PM Fri18°
Melbourne10:43PM Fri13°
Brisbane10:43PM Fri21°
Perth8:43PM Fri17°
Adelaide10:13PM Fri
Hobart10:43PM Fri18°
Canberra10:43PM Fri12°
Darwin10:13PM Fri26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

New Zealand South Island

01 January 2015 by csf-admin

new-zealand07New Zealand is a popular destination for migrants and those seeking a new life down under. New Zealand’s South Island is the largest land mass, and is divided along its length by the Southern Alps. The dramatic and varied landscape of New Zealand has made it a popular location for the production of TV shows and films including the Lord of the Rings trilogy.

Where to go and what to see in South Island

Marlborough, the principal wine region of New Zealand, is the first area you pass through after crossing from North Island. There are plenty of wine tours and tastings on offer. For whale and dolphin watching, head for Kaikoura on the east coast. Queenstown is the place for extreme sports like bungy jumping and white-water rafting.
Arthur’s Pass, (elevation 920 metres) is accessible by train or car, and offers superb walks and a visitor centre.
The two glaciers on the west side are Fox Glacier and Franz Josef Glacier. Further to the south west are two fiords which could be the highlight of any visit to South Island, Doubtful Sound and Milford Sound.
Abel Tasman National Park in the north east offers a stunning coastline with opportunities for walking, kayaking and camping.

Tourist tips: most visitors land in Auckland and hire a car to drive to Wellington, but if you can do it the other way round you may get a cheaper rate as you are returning a car to where it is needed. If you are driving round both islands, most rental companies require you to leave your car at the port in North Island, take the ferry with your luggage and pick up a new car in South Island. Only a few companies allow you to keep the same car throughout your trip on both islands, which is much better.

Darrell Todd, CEO of thinkingaustralia, says: “If you are seeking a new job and better lifestyle Down Under, contact us today to find out about jobs and migration and how YOU could be starting a new life in Australia. Contact us via our website or Tel: 0845 850 4040 for a FREE assessment “.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy