Netflix is top down under • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 4:54AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney4:54AM Tue22°
Melbourne4:54AM Tue16°
Brisbane3:54AM Tue20°
Perth1:54AM Tue26°
Adelaide4:24AM Tue
Hobart4:54AM Tue10°
Canberra4:54AM Tue11°
Darwin3:24AM Tue26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Netflix is top down under

14 May 2015 by News Desk

tech_netflix1Netflix has become Australia’s most popular video streaming service just six weeks since its launch in the country.

Netflix has grabbed 39% of the paid video subscription market down under, while its main Australian competitor, Foxtel, has a market share of 38%,

Almost a quarter (24%) of Australian subscribers accessed Netflix in February 2015 but use has soared since the launch of the specialist Australian service in March. Foxtel has subsequently lost 10% of its market share while Stan, the service owned by Nine Entertainment and Fairfax Media, has just 7% market share.

Industry observers believe that Netflix could see a fall in subscribers within 12 months due to a lack of programming because many key movies and shows are already signed up to Foxtel.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy