Migration to Australia Update • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 7:40AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:40AM Fri15°
Melbourne7:40AM Fri
Brisbane7:40AM Fri18°
Perth5:40AM Fri14°
Adelaide7:10AM Fri
Hobart7:40AM Fri
Canberra7:40AM Fri
Darwin7:10AM Fri24°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Migration to Australia Update

12 June 2020 by News Desk

Migration to Australia continues and has seen an increase in qualified people arriving to live and work down under.

The 2019 Characteristics of Recent Migrants Survey showed that migrants arriving in the last 10 years with a qualification, the majority (79 per cent) held a Bachelor degree or higher, with another 13 per cent holding an Advanced Diploma or Diploma level qualification.

1.9 million people in Australia were recent migrants or temporary residents according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

50% had permanent visas or had become Australian citizens.

68% of recent migrants and temporary residents were employed, with a labour force participation rate of 72%.

69% of recent migrants held a non-school qualification before arriving in Australia and 35% had obtained a non-school qualification after arriving in Australia.

More than two thirds (69 per cent) of recent migrants aged 15 years and over held a formal, non-school qualification before they arrived in Australia.

Migration to Australia qualifications

The most common field of study for recent migrant’s highest pre-migration qualification was management and commerce (25 per cent), followed by engineering and related technologies (19 per cent), health (12 per cent) and information technology (12 per cent).

ABS Director of Migration and Small Population Insights, Jenny Dobak, said around 40 per cent of the migrants who held qualifications before arrival had applied to have these recognised by an Australian association or government agency in order to work in a particular job.

“In 90 per cent of these cases, pre-migration qualifications were fully recognised,” Ms Dobak said.

“As well, many recent migrants study after their arrival in Australia; more than a third (35 per cent) obtained a non-school qualification and around half (48 per cent) obtained a Bachelor Degree or higher.”

The Survey also showed that of those recent migrants who have had a job since arriving in Australia, over half (54 per cent) had used their highest non-school qualification in their first job.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy