Jobs in Australia Update • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 7:57AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:57AM Fri15°
Melbourne7:57AM Fri
Brisbane7:57AM Fri18°
Perth5:57AM Fri14°
Adelaide7:27AM Fri
Hobart7:57AM Fri
Canberra7:57AM Fri
Darwin7:27AM Fri24°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Jobs in Australia Update

12 June 2020 by News Desk

Jobs in Australia are still available for migrants seeking to live and work down under.

Until the COVID-19 emergency around 70 per cent of recent migrants and temporary residents were employed.

Migrants who had obtained Australian citizenship since arrival were more likely to be employed (76%) than migrants on a permanent visa (66%), or temporary residents (65%).

Of those employed, 77% of people with Australian citizenship and 75% on a permanent visa were employed full-time, compared with 48% of temporary residents.

Jobs in Australia

Overall, men were more likely to be employed full-time than women:

90% of employed male recent migrants were employed full-time compared with 63% of females

52% of employed male temporary residents were employed full-time compared with 40% of females

A higher proportion of recent migrants (70%) were employed, compared with people born in Australia (65%). They were also more likely to be employed full-time (76% vs 68%).

Jobs in Australia – Unemployment

While the overall unemployment rate was higher for recent migrants and temporary residents than for people born in Australia (5.9% vs 4.7%), it varied across the different migrant groups:

3.3% for migrants with Australian citizenship
4.8% for temporary residents
9.2% for migrants on a permanent visa

Female recent migrants and temporary residents had a higher unemployment rate than males (8.3% vs 3.9%).

Jobs in Australia – participation rate

The labour force participation rate was higher for recent migrants and temporary residents than for people born in Australia (72% vs 68%).

Overall, men had higher labour force participation rates than women:
92% for male recent migrants with Australian citizenship compared with 69% for females
83% for males on a permanent visa compared with 65% for females
77% for males on a temporary visa compared with 59% for females

In comparison, for men and women born in Australia, the labour force participation rates were 72% and 64%, respectively.

Jobs in Australia – Finding employment

Around 1 in 10 recent migrants who have had a job in Australia arrived with their first job arranged, whereas 44% spent up to three months looking for their first job.

Among recent migrants who have had a job since arrival, almost half (48%) received some form of help to find their first job, most commonly from friends or family (69%).

A third (33%) reported experiencing some difficulty finding their first job. The most common difficulties were:
Lack of Australian work experience or references (65%)
Lack of local contacts or networks (29%)
Language difficulties (25%)

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy