Local:
Sydney: Tue 5:48PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney5:48PM Tue19°
Melbourne5:48PM Tue18°
Brisbane4:48PM Tue24°
Perth2:48PM Tue17°
Adelaide5:18PM Tue
Hobart5:48PM Tue14°
Canberra5:48PM Tue19°
Darwin4:18PM Tue34°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Migration to Australia 2020

21 June 2020 by News Desk

Migration to Australia has slowed in 2020, the result of COVID-19 lockdown measures.

But ongoing migration means that 30 per cent of Australia’s resident population were born overseas with the majority coming from Britain

More than 7.5 million people living in Australia in 2019 were born overseas, with those born in England continuing to be the largest group, according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

“People born in England continued to be the largest group of overseas-born residents, accounting for 986,000 people,” said Jenny Dobak ABS Director of Migration Statistics.

“However, this has dropped from just over one million people recorded between 2012 and 2016.

“People born in Sri Lanka represented the tenth largest group of overseas-born residents, accounting for 140,000 people, and replacing Scotland in the top 10.”

In the year to 30 June 2019, 538,000 people arrived to live in Australia, while 298,000 people left Australia to live overseas.

Of those migrant arrivals, 64 per cent were temporary visa holders including 32 per cent who were international students.

There were 30,000 New Zealand citizens who moved to Australia to live however, in the same year, 22,000 New Zealanders left Australia to live overseas.

In addition, in 2018-19 there were 75,000 Australian citizens who returned to Australia after living overseas but in the same year there were nearly 87,000 who decided to emigrate.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies.
Cookie Policy Privacy policy