Migration to Australia 2019 • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 4:48AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney4:48AM Fri14°
Melbourne4:48AM Fri
Brisbane4:48AM Fri15°
Perth2:48AM Fri16°
Adelaide4:18AM Fri
Hobart4:48AM Fri
Canberra4:48AM Fri
Darwin4:18AM Fri26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Migration to Australia 2019

04 May 2020 by News Desk

Migration to Australia remains top of a ‘wish-list’ for millions of people worldwide.

More than 530,000 people arrived down under in 2019, succeeding in their dream of Migration to Australia.

More than 7.5 million people living in Australia in 2019 were born overseas, with those born in England continuing to be the largest group, according to latest data from the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

ABS Director of Migration Statistics Jenny Dobak said new figures showed that in 2019 just under 30 per cent of Australia’s resident population were born overseas.

“People born in England continued to be the largest group of overseas-born residents, accounting for 986,000 people,” Ms Dobak said. “However, this has dropped from just over one million people recorded between 2012 and 2016.

“People born in Sri Lanka represented the tenth largest group of overseas-born residents, accounting for 140,000 people, and replacing Scotland in the top 10.”

Migration to Australia

In the year to 30 June 2019, 538,000 people arrived to live in Australia, while 298,000 people left Australia to live overseas.

Of those migrant arrivals, 64 per cent were temporary visa holders including 32 per cent who were international students.

There were 30,000 New Zealand citizens who moved to Australia to live however, in the same year, 22,000 New Zealanders left Australia to live overseas.

In addition, in 2018-19 there were 75,000 Australian citizens who returned to Australia after living overseas but in the same year there were nearly 87,000 who decided to emigrate.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry/

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy