Long Journey Home • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 11:30PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:30PM Sun17°
Melbourne11:30PM Sun14°
Brisbane11:30PM Sun18°
Perth9:30PM Sun15°
Adelaide11:00PM Sun
Hobart11:30PM Sun14°
Canberra11:30PM Sun
Darwin11:00PM Sun25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Long Journey Home

04 May 2020 by News Desk

Melbourne-based science researcher Christiaan De Beukelaer planned a three-week sailing trip.

In early March his boat set sail from Australia with no internet and after many weeks at sea with no communications he had no idea that an international pandemic had taken over.

When he did finally find out about coronavirus he was not allowed to dock his boat at any port he visited. Many governments have banned people from visiting and entering their countries.

Now De Beukelaer’s boat – the Avontuur – must cross more than 6,000 nautical miles across the Atlantic Ocean to the only port that will accept it… Hamburg in Germany

Then, when Australia finally allows him to return to Melbourne, he will have to sail another 6,000 miles across the ocean in order to get home – by which time he would have travelled over 20,000 miles and spent around three months at sea!

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry/

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy