Migrate to Australia: $Millions to be claimed • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 10:10PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:10PM Fri18°
Melbourne10:10PM Fri13°
Brisbane10:10PM Fri21°
Perth8:10PM Fri17°
Adelaide9:40PM Fri
Hobart10:10PM Fri18°
Canberra10:10PM Fri12°
Darwin9:40PM Fri26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Migrate to Australia: $Millions to be claimed

08 October 2016 by News Desk

Migrate to Australia and find out if you are eligible for a pile of ‘forgotten’ money.

Migrate to AustraliaMigrate to Australia where over $200 million in ‘forgotten’ unclaimed money is being held by the Office of State Revenue in New South Wales.

The OSR currently holds more than 464,000 items of unclaimed money worth over $218 million just waiting to be claimed by its rightful owners, says Dominic Perrottet, Minister for Finance, Services and Property.

“Now is a great time to get on the OSR’s website and check if any of that unclaimed money is yours”.

Unclaimed money held by OSR could be from deceased estates, dividends, bonds, refunds, overpayments and a range of other sources. The money is sent to OSR by private enterprises, government agencies, local councils, and State Trustees because they have not been able to locate and return the money to the owners.

Items range from $20 share dividends to $1.06 million from a deceased estate trust fund.

Migrate to Australia: $Millions to be claimed

In 2015 OSR has paid 9,189 claims worth almost $20 million. The largest payout was $345,306 from unclaimed share dividends.

One man was recently paid more $190,566 after he found the proceeds of a property sale by searching the OSR’s unclaimed money database.

Another woman claimed more than $174,000 from overpayments she had made, while another was reunited with an overpayment of more than $57,750.

The OSR website is easy to navigate, and the unclaimed money search facility is free, so it’s well worth having a look – if it’s your money, you’re entitled to claim it.

OSR publishes information about unclaimed money on its website to help reunite people with their lost funds.

The website shows the name of the unclaimed money owner, the type and source of the funds and, if available, the owner’s last known address. Owners must prove their identity and that they are entitled to the money before it is released.

For more information visit www.osr.nsw.gov.au

Want to migrate to Australia ? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy