Migrate to Australia: health spending increases • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 9:30PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:30PM Fri20°
Melbourne9:30PM Fri16°
Brisbane8:30PM Fri23°
Perth6:30PM Fri22°
Adelaide9:00PM Fri
Hobart9:30PM Fri13°
Canberra9:30PM Fri16°
Darwin8:00PM Fri31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Migrate to Australia: health spending increases

07 October 2016 by News Desk

Migrate to Australia where $161.6 billion was spent on health goods and services in 2015.

Migrate to AustraliaMigrate to Australia where spending on health has reached 10% of Gross Domestic Product for the first time according to the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare.

While this was $4.4 billion (2.8%) higher in real terms than in the previous year, it is the third consecutive year that growth was below the 10-year average of 4.6%.

“This suggests that while growth in health spending is slow, it is faster than growth in other areas of the economy,” said AIHW spokesperson Dr Adrian Webster.

The report shows that total health spending by governments ($108.2 billion) was 1.3% higher than in the previous year—less than one-third of the average annual increase over the decade of 4.3%.

Migrate to Australia: health spending increases

The slow growth in government spending was mostly driven by a fall in state and territory government spending—the only time this occurred in the decade.

State and territory governments contributed $42.0 billion in 2014–15 (or 26% of total spending). This represented a fall of 0.4% in real terms on the previous year.

This is compared to average annual growth of 4.8% per year.

The Australian Government contributed $66.2 billion (41% of total spending), up by 2.4% on 2013–14 (compared with average annual growth of 4.0%).

Non-government sources (individuals, private health insurance and other non-government sources) provided the remaining $53.4 billion (33.1%).

Growth in non-government expenditure in 2014–15 was higher than for government, at 5.9%, and above the average annual growth over the decade of 5.4%.

Growth for individuals (out of pocket expenses) was 3.7% and it was 6.8% for private health insurance.

Want to Migrate to Australia ? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for expert help with Study Visas: Student Visas in Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy