Melbourne voted best for students • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 11:56PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:56PM Fri17°
Melbourne11:56PM Fri14°
Brisbane11:56PM Fri19°
Perth9:56PM Fri15°
Adelaide11:26PM Fri
Hobart11:56PM Fri17°
Canberra11:56PM Fri
Darwin11:26PM Fri25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Melbourne voted best for students

08 December 2015 by News Desk

edu_CanberraUniMelbourne has been named the best city in Australia for international students.

And the city is the second best in the world ahead of Tokyo, Sydney and London, according to an annual survey that ranks cities on their quality of universities, affordability, lifestyle, employment prospects and student community.

Seven cities in Australia feature in the top 75 best student cities in the world with Sydney voted fourth, Canberra (17th), Brisbane (18th), Adelaide (26th), Perth (35th) and Gold Coast (69th).

Melbourne received a perfect score (100/100) for student mix which looks at city’s student population, levels of social inclusion, and tolerance. There are currently more than 30,000 international students studying in Melbourne.

The QS Best Student Cities Index named Paris as the top city for the fourth year in a row.

Professor Susan Elliott of the University of Melbourne said the rankings show that students from hundreds of different countries feel welcome when coming to Australia and are supported in their growth as students and individuals.

Seven Melbourne universities featured in the QS World University Rankings 2015/16, the highest-ranked of which is the University of Melbourne, second only to Australian National University.

The US is the most represented country with 11 cities on the list, followed by the UK (eight) and Australia (seven).

Top 10 Best Cities For Students

Paris
Melbourne
Tokyo
Sydney
London
Singapore
Montreal
Hong Kong
Berlin
Seoul



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy