Melbourne most popular city • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 10:59AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:59AM Thu20°
Melbourne10:59AM Thu14°
Brisbane10:59AM Thu24°
Perth8:59AM Thu18°
Adelaide10:29AM Thu
Hobart10:59AM Thu14°
Canberra10:59AM Thu14°
Darwin10:29AM Thu29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Melbourne most popular city

28 July 2016 by News Desk

Melbourne growth has reached record levels, latest official data shows.

melbourneMelbourne has been boosted by around 100,000 new residents in the past 12 months and new census data is poised to confirm the Victorian capital as Australia’s fastest growing city.

“Government forecasts expect Melbourne to be Australia’s biggest city in coming years,” says Darrell Todd, founder of thinkingaustralia.

“The new census figures only confirm the city’s popularity, a migrant trend that will continue in future”.

Melbourne’s population grew by 91,600 in 2015 (1760 people every week).
Population growth in the city, at 2.1 per cent, is greater than Sydney, at 1.7 per cent.

Melbourne is growing fast, with the majority of expansion seen in the outer suburbs of South Morang, Epping, Cranbourne East and Point Cook.

Fast-growing Cranbourne East in the outer southeast has been growing by 4600 a year, while South Morang has grown by 4200; Epping, 3300 and Point Cook by 3200.

Melbourne most popular city

The census, which takes place every five years, helps officials to better plan for future needs including key infrastructure, cycle paths, roads and public transport.

In the 15 years to 2011 – when the last census was taken – the number of people driving into the city has fallen while numbers cycling to work or using public transport has grown.

A new census will take place on August 9th and everyone is urged to take part. Census instruction letters will arrive in mailboxes next week and officials urge residents to go online on August 9 and participate.

“On census night everyone in Australia has to complete a form”, says Darrell Todd. “Like voting in elections, census night is a civic duty Down Under”.

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for tourist information about Melbourne: Visit Melbourne

 



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy