Brisbane plans 2028 Olympics bid • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 10:54AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:54AM Thu19°
Melbourne10:54AM Thu15°
Brisbane9:54AM Thu22°
Perth7:54AM Thu21°
Adelaide10:24AM Thu
Hobart10:54AM Thu20°
Canberra10:54AM Thu16°
Darwin9:24AM Thu29°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Brisbane plans 2028 Olympics bid

28 July 2016 by News Desk

BrisbaneBrisbane has spent a year preparing a detailed report on its’ Olympic plan.

Brisbane’s next step in its’ official bid to host the Olympic Games will be taken today when city officials release a first report on their preparations.

While Australian athletes prepare to take part in this year’s Olympic Games in Rio, Brazil, sporting enthusiasts in Queensland await the Brisbane bid with great anticipation.

Brisbane Lord Mayor Graham Quirk is today due to release findings of the city’s first 12 months’ preparations.

He has previously told reporters: “I think Brisbane would be the obvious choice for the next Australian Olympic bid.

“As Australia’s new world city I think we’ve demonstrated that we are capable of staging a world event – staging it safely, successfully and with attention to detail”.

The Queensland capital has previously hosted the Commonwealth Games in 1982, as well as the Goodwill Games in 2001. The city will also play a role in the 2018 Commonwealth Games on Australia’s Gold Coast.

Brisbane plans 2028 Olympics bid

John Coates of the Australian Olympic Committee believes Brisbane is the ‘natural choice’ to host the Games.

Peter Beattie, the former Queensland premier, told reporters: “The event could be a significant injector of economic activity”.

If the city’s bid is to succeed it will have to meet the new Olympic Agenda 2020 which is a ‘new philosophy to invite potential candidate cities to present a project that fits their sporting, economic, social and environmental long-term planning needs’.

Queensland’s Olympic bid will face tough competition.

The cities of Kuala Lumpur, Berlin, Amsterdam, and Johannesburg are though to be preparing their own bids to host the Games.

Paris, Rome, Los Angeles and Budapest are bidding to host the 2024 Olympic Games, with the losing three cities expected to be automatically considered contenders for the 2028 Games.

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for tourist information about Brisbane: Visit Brisbane



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy