Job Vacancies Rise 60% • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 12:32PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney12:32PM Thu19°
Melbourne12:32PM Thu14°
Brisbane12:32PM Thu18°
Perth10:32AM Thu15°
Adelaide12:02PM Thu
Hobart12:32PM Thu12°
Canberra12:32PM Thu12°
Darwin12:02PM Thu28°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Job Vacancies Rise 60%

01 October 2020 by News Desk

Job Vacancies Rise 60%

The number of job vacancies in Australia increased by 59 per cent over the August 2020 quarter.

Job vacancies in the private sector increased by 65 per cent over the quarter, and by 22 per cent in the public sector. Private sector vacancies were around 9 per cent below February, and public sector vacancies were around 13 per cent below.

In original series terms, increases in vacancies were seen in all states and territories, according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

Compared with February 2020, the largest percentage increases were in the Northern Territory and Western Australia.

Victoria, New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory recovered less than the other states and territories, remaining 23 percent, 22 percent and 15 percent below February.

The three industries with the largest percentage increases in job vacancies in the August 2020 quarter were the three that saw the largest falls in May: Arts and recreation services; Rental, hiring and real estate services; and Accommodation and food services.

Bjorn Jarvis, head of Labour Statistics at the ABS, said: “Job vacancies rose sharply in the August 2020 quarter, following the largest fall on record in the May 2020 quarter, when vacancies decreased by 43 per cent.”

“By August, vacancies were around 9 per cent below February, highlighting the extent of recovery from the fall in May,” Mr Jarvis said.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry/

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news

For a range of official government information about Australia, visit https://www.Australia.gov.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy