Internet use growing in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 8:38AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:38AM Tue17°
Melbourne8:38AM Tue12°
Brisbane7:38AM Tue23°
Perth5:38AM Tue16°
Adelaide8:08AM Tue
Hobart8:38AM Tue10°
Canberra8:38AM Tue12°
Darwin7:08AM Tue26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Internet use growing in Australia

22 May 2015 by News Desk

tech_iphoneRising use of smartphones and tablets has driven 7.4% growth in internet access across Australia.

Australia’s fixed business data and Internet access markets are expected to grow at 0.6% and 3.9%, respectively, over the next four years, according to IDC.

The adoption of cloud, mobility, and applications is driving the demand of data services. “Competition is heightening as telcos are aggressively pursuing market share. In some cases, we have seen contracts discounted upwards of 25% on renewal,” says Bradley Murray, associate market analyst, IDC Australia

But while these areas are expanding, the Australian fixed line telecoms services market declined 2.3% due to the decline in traditional voice and legacy data services. IDC forecasts the fixe line telecommunications services market to decline at 3% over the next four years to A$11.3 billion. Fixed voice revenue is the largest contributor to this decline.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy