Housing approvals rise 12% • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 6:02PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney6:02PM Sun26°
Melbourne6:02PM Sun17°
Brisbane5:02PM Sun28°
Perth3:02PM Sun19°
Adelaide5:32PM Sun
Hobart6:02PM Sun19°
Canberra6:02PM Sun26°
Darwin4:32PM Sun31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Housing approvals rise 12%

10 September 2020 by News Desk

The number of new houses and apartments approved for construction in Australia rose 12.0 per cent in July according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

The rise was driven by private sector dwellings excluding houses, which increased by 22.7 per cent in July, after falling to an eight-year low in June.

Meanwhile, private sector houses rose by 8.5 per cent, which was the strongest monthly increase since January 2014.

“The July results likely reflect improved consumer sentiment in May, on the back of falling COVID-19 cases and easing of restrictions” said Daniel Rossi, Director of Construction Statistics at the ABS

Across the states and territories, dwelling approvals rose in Tasmania (50.0 per cent), New South Wales (32.0 per cent), Victoria (9.3 per cent) and Queensland (7.7 per cent). South Australia (10.5 per cent) and Western Australia (8.3 per cent) recorded decreases in seasonally adjusted terms.

Approvals for private sector houses rose in Queensland (15.6 per cent), New South Wales (14.3 per cent) and Victoria (6.1 per cent). Decreases were recorded in Western Australia (3.0 per cent) and South Australia (1.8 per cent).

The value of total building approved fell 3.9 per cent in July, in seasonally adjusted terms. The value of non-residential building fell 19.8 per cent to its lowest level since January 2018, after rising 20.7 per cent in June. Meanwhile residential building rose 9.5 per cent in July.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news

For a range of official government information about Australia, visit https://www.Australia.gov.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy