Home Working ‘Panic’ • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 9:18PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:18PM Fri19°
Melbourne9:18PM Fri14°
Brisbane9:18PM Fri22°
Perth7:18PM Fri18°
Adelaide8:48PM Fri
Hobart9:18PM Fri18°
Canberra9:18PM Fri12°
Darwin8:48PM Fri28°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Home Working ‘Panic’

18 April 2020 by News Desk

Home working for long periods of time amid the Covid19 emergency can lead to ‘panic working’

Hyper-productivity is becoming a new workplace phenomenon due to home working for long periods of time under uncertain conditions says Dr. Ali Fenwick, Professor of Organisational Behaviour at Hult International Business School in Dubai.

Covid19 creates a lot of uncertainty and poses a threat towards one’s livelihood and health. The different coping strategies that people use to deal with the current situation lead to a similar state of mind, resulting in panic working.

Home Working ‘Panic’

According to Dr. Fenwick there are four reasons why people panic work when working from home:

1. The Ostrich Effect: When situations are uncertain and fear kicks in home working employees can choose to cope with a perceived threat by ignoring it. This is called the ostrich effect. Sticking you head in the sand and pretending it is business as usual, while you know there is something wrong. The more one ignores reality, the harder one works, which leads to panic working.

2. Busy Bee Syndrome: This coping strategy is common among people home working. A need to always appear busy. When you are working from home you might feel the pressure to show other people you are busy by sending emails the whole day, making yourself constantly available, or finding other ways to prove how productive you are. Missing workplace cues of validation, acknowledgement, and feedback can lead to panic working.

3. Working to Survive: The fear of losing one’s job or even the fear of death can spur some employees to go into hyper drive. Survival mode kicks in. This defence mindset is driven mainly through emotions and triggers employees to work harder as a way of acting out their need to survive.

4. Working to Regain Control: Feelings of confinement and insecurity can make employees feel powerless. When this happens, it is normal for employees to want to regain control over their surroundings. Panic working is a way that employees can exert their control in a meaningful way, which leads to excessive working as a way to feel safe, and more secure.

According Dr. Fenwick, “People have different ways of dealing the Covid19 situation while home working. Be it working to survive, regain control, act busy, or ignore reality, many employees will react in a similar way by panic working. Employers can easily mistake busyness for productivity and overlook the negative consequences of hyper-productivity to employee well-being and organizational performance”.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates
https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy