Home rental costs in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 9:42AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney9:42AM Fri13°
Melbourne9:42AM Fri14°
Brisbane9:42AM Fri18°
Perth7:42AM Fri16°
Adelaide9:12AM Fri
Hobart9:42AM Fri12°
Canberra9:42AM Fri
Darwin9:12AM Fri27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Home rental costs in Australia

22 August 2015 by News Desk

australian-money001The cost of renting a house or an apartment in Australia has remained flat over the past 12 months.

Across the country average house rents remained flat at $408 per week while unit (apartment) rents rose 0.3% to $337 per week, according to latest research.

Sydney has the country’s highest rents having risen by 1.4% to $681 per week while unit rents rose 1.6% to $481. Rents in Darwin have fallen by 20.5% to $583 for houses and 15.2% to $472 for units.

Perth’s house rents fell 7.4% to $488, while units dropped 6.3% to $392. Rent costs for houses in Canberra rose 0.6% over the year to $478 while unit rents fell 0.3% to $372.

In Melbourne, rents for houses increased by 3.0% to $472 and units rose 2.0% to $364. In Brisbane rents increased 1.0% to $450 for houses and 1.4% to $372 for units.

Adelaide rents rose 2.5% to $364 for houses while units remained unchanged at $280. Rent for Hobart houses increased 3.9% to $320, while cost of renting units rose by 8.3% to $284, according to new figures from SQM Research



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy