Health care help in Australia • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 8:38AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:38AM Tue17°
Melbourne8:38AM Tue12°
Brisbane7:38AM Tue23°
Perth5:38AM Tue16°
Adelaide8:08AM Tue
Hobart8:38AM Tue10°
Canberra8:38AM Tue12°
Darwin7:08AM Tue26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Health care help in Australia

07 February 2016 by News Desk

health_doctor1The government of Australia offers a range of benefits and services to help with the cost of using health care services and buying medicines or medical equipment.

For people living with illness, injury or disability, payments and services can be provided in Australia to help if you have an illness, injury or disability that stops you from working, or limits the amount of work you can do.

The Essential Medical Equipment Payment is an annual payment to assist with the additional running costs of essential medical equipment or medically required heating and cooling.

There are a number of Medicare payments and services that help when you or your dependants use health care services or need medicines.

Medicare provides free or subsidised treatment by some health professionals and free treatment and accommodation as a public patient in a public hospital.

Once you’re reached the relevant threshold, the Medicare Safety Net provides an additional benefit for eligible services in Australia.

The Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme (PBS) and PBS Safety Net can reduce the cost of a wide range of prescription medicines.

If you or your family pays for private health insurance, you may be eligible for the Australian Government Private Health Insurance Rebate on your premiums.

You can register for a digital health record in the My Health Record system to have a secure online summary of your health information.

Depending on your circumstances, you might be able to get one or more concession and health care cards to help with your health care costs.

For full details, go to: www.humanservices.gov.au/customer/subjects/health-care



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy