Emigrating to Australia: Perth Kilt Run • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 7:55AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:55AM Tue15°
Melbourne7:55AM Tue
Brisbane7:55AM Tue16°
Perth5:55AM Tue
Adelaide7:25AM Tue
Hobart7:55AM Tue
Canberra7:55AM Tue
Darwin7:25AM Tue25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Emigrating to Australia: Perth Kilt Run

25 August 2016 by News Desk

Emigrating to Australia can be as much about leading a sporting lifestyle as it is about opportunities.

Emigrating to AustraliaEmigrating to Australia: Aussies love sport whatever the uniform – including Scottish Kilts, and thousands will be worn at the annual Perth Kilt Run.

This year’s event will see a world record attempted at the City of Armadale’s annual Perth Kilt Run at Minnawarra Park on September 18.

The City hoping that during this year’s run Perth in Australia will be able to beat Perth in Scotland and Perth in Ontario.

The Perth Kilt Run has a big number to beat. The current record for the number of runners is 1,750 and the record was set in Ontario, Canada.

“The other two Perths in Scotland and Canada have been competing in the Perth Kilt Run challenge for a number of years,” Armadale Mayor Henry Zelones said.

“Now in our fourth year we hope to edge even closer to taking out the title of world’s largest kilt run.

“To be able to do this we need people from all over Perth to have some fun by donning a kilt and taking part in this charity fun run.”

Emigrating to Australia: Perth Kilt Run

Runners and walkers can take part in the 5km Warrior Challenge, or join in the fun with the 2.5km Classic leisure run or walk to raise money for Beyond Blue, the Amanda Young Foundation and the Intensive Care Foundation.

There are some great prizes available for not only the winners of the race but also for those who get creative and have some fun.

“So gather your friends and family to take part in the challenge and put Perth, Western Australia on the tartan world map,” the Mayor says.

The Perth Kilt Run is just one of many exciting events held as part of the 2016 Highland Gathering, Western Australia’s largest Scottish festival.

The festival also features live Celtic music, strongman competitions, highland dancing, medieval fair, pipe band competitions and a Scottish tavern, along with food and craft stalls, all of which will highlight Scottish culture.

To get a kilt to be eligible for the event and to register, visit www.perthkiltrun.com.au/run-information

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy