Emigrate to Australia - Victoria bans Fracking • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 2:37AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney2:37AM Mon17°
Melbourne2:37AM Mon20°
Brisbane2:37AM Mon20°
Perth12:37AM Mon13°
Adelaide2:07AM Mon
Hobart2:37AM Mon15°
Canberra2:37AM Mon12°
Darwin2:07AM Mon27°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Emigrate to Australia – Victoria bans Fracking

30 August 2016 by News Desk

Emigrate to Australia: The fracking ban is in response to widespread community opposition to these industries.

Emigrate to AustraliaEmigrate to Australia: Campaigners believe that the decision by Victoria will lead to fracking bans across Australia and elsewhere.

A recent Australian Government consultation revealed a wide range of objections to fracking and other ‘new’ forms of onshore gas exploration.

“The fracking industry continues to lose friends all over the world,” says Dr Richard Dixon, Director of Friends of the Earth Scotland.

“Community opposition to the fracking and unconventional gas industry has been fierce right across Australia and thankfully the Victorian Government has listened to these concerns.

Emigrate to Australia – Victoria bans Fracking

“This ban will undoubtedly increase the pressure on Scottish Government who will be looking at similar evidence to their Victorian counterparts. We hope Scotland will soon join the growing list of places who have rejected this industry entirely.

“The Victorian government stated that the legislation to be introduced to Parliament later this year will “protect the ‘clean, green’ reputation of Victoria’s agriculture sector, which employs more than 190,000 people”.

Research into the industry in Queensland has shown that 18 jobs are lost in farming for every 10 created in unconventional gas.

“We cannot risk our land and water to this dangerous and polluting industry,” Dr Dixon says.

“From a global climate change perspective, it is encouraging to see fossil fuels being kept in the ground. Developed nations need to rapidly move away our reliance on these dirty, destructive energy sources and embrace clean, safe renewables. Fracking should have no place in our energy mix.”

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy