Emigrate to Australia: Brisbane • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 11:44AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:44AM Thu22°
Melbourne11:44AM Thu16°
Brisbane10:44AM Thu23°
Perth8:44AM Thu23°
Adelaide11:14AM Thu
Hobart11:44AM Thu20°
Canberra11:44AM Thu19°
Darwin10:14AM Thu30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Emigrate to Australia: Brisbane

30 August 2016 by News Desk

Emigrate to Australia: Police were deployed at closed road intersections along the course ensuring the safety of the general public and participants as well as regulating traffic.

Emigrate to AustraliaEmigrate to Australia: Under very unfortunate circumstances early on in the event, one of our officers got to meet a very inspiring young man.

That young man is 14-year-old Nathan from Bundaberg.

Nathan took part in the Bridge to Brisbane elite wheelchair event to raise funds for the Sporting Wheelies and Disabled Association.

Nathan has cerebral palsy and wanted to compete in his first road race in Brisbane by entering the Bridge to Brisbane.

Nathan was racing on the course near the front of the field when he crashed into a barrier at reportedly 28 km/hr.

Emigrate to Australia: Brisbane

Nathan’s father Paul said Nathan went over the barrier and did a complete flip before landing.

Nathan received minor injuries and was helped back into his chair by a police woman nearby.

That officer was Acting Sergeant Dani De-Waal from Upper Mount Gravatt Station.

After seeing the crash, Acting Sergeant De-Waal ran to give aid to Nathan, whose wheelchair was so badly damaged he could not continue on in the Bridge to Brisbane.

Even after knowing he could not finish the event, he still was still able to express his appreciation of the help rendered by Acting Sergeant De-Waal and got his father to take the picture of them together.

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for expert help with Study Visas: Student Visas in Australia

Click here for tourist information about Brisbane: Visit Brisbane



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy