Emigrate to Australia: Sydney host 2018 Invictus Games • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 7:43PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:43PM Sun13°
Melbourne7:43PM Sun10°
Brisbane7:43PM Sun17°
Perth5:43PM Sun18°
Adelaide7:13PM Sun
Hobart7:43PM Sun
Canberra7:43PM Sun
Darwin7:13PM Sun31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Emigrate to Australia: Sydney host 2018 Invictus Games

13 November 2016 by News Desk

Emigrate to Australia where Prince Harry confirmed Sydney as the 2018 Invictus Games host city in a video message backed by Australian singer Kylie Minogue.

Emigrate to AustraliaEmigrate to Australia where Prince Harry confirmed Sydney as the 2018 Invictus Games host city in a video message backed by Australian singer Kylie Minogue.

Emigrate to Australia and experience the fourth Invictus Games that will be held on 18-29 October 2018 with over 500 competitors taking part from 17 nations.

Emigrate to Australia where Sydney follows host cities London (2014) and Orlando (2016) with Toronto due to stage the games in September 2017.

Events will be held across Greater Sydney including Sydney Olympic Park and on and around Sydney Harbour. 17 nations will compete in eleven different adaptive sports

Prince Harry explained why the Sydney bid won the rights to the 2018 Invictus Games: “We had three key criteria. First, it had to be an iconic city – somewhere known the world over.

“Second, it needed to be a city with a proud military heritage, which would welcome competitors from all over the world with open arms.

“And finally, we wanted to go somewhere where they are absolutely sports mad and would really get behind our competitors.

“It was an easy decision really – the 2018 Invictus Games are coming to Sydney.”

Emigrate to Australia for 2018 Invictus Games

Founded by Prince Harry, the Invictus Games use the power of sport to inspire recovery, support rehabilitation and generate a wider understanding and respect for wounded, injured and sick servicemen and women and the families that play such an important supporting role.

It is the only international adaptive sporting event for wounded, ill and injured active duty and veteran service members.

Prince Harry founded the Invictus Games after a visit to the US Warrior Games held in Colorado in 2013.

He vowed to take the idea and launch a similar event in the UK after seeing the impact sport could have on wounded, injured and sick Servicemen and women in their recovery.

The first Games took place in London in 2014 at the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, the site of the 2012 London Olympic and Paralympic Games. Over 400 competitors from 13 countries took part, including the US, Australia, Canada, France and Afghanistan.

The second Invictus Games took place in May 2016 in Orlando, Florida with more than 500 competitors from 15 nations. The Invictus Games will continue in Toronto 23 – 30 September 2017.

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Want to Emigrate to Australiar? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia 

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with Study Visas: Student Visas in Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia

 



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy