Emigrate to Australia: 1m students visit Canberra • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 2:43AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney2:43AM Fri14°
Melbourne2:43AM Fri
Brisbane2:43AM Fri16°
Perth12:43AM Fri18°
Adelaide2:13AM Fri
Hobart2:43AM Fri
Canberra2:43AM Fri
Darwin2:13AM Fri26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Emigrate to Australia: 1m students visit Canberra

13 November 2016 by News Desk

Emigrate to Australia where the historic millionth student visit milestone was reached this week Down Under.

Emigrate to AustraliaEmigrate to Australia where the Government’s Parliament and Civics Education Rebate (PACER) program funds student visit to the heart of Australian democracy.

The scheme delivers financial assistance for students in Years 4 to 12 from schools more than 150 kilometres away from Canberra to travel to the national capital to learn about civics and citizenship.

“PACER has now helped more than one million students to visit our national capital and learn about practical aspects of citizenship and Australian history in an engaging and fun way,” said Simon Birmingham, Minister for Education and Training.

“To have more than one million young people make the trip to Canberra with the support of PACER shows how valuable the program is to school communities across the country.

“I enjoy seeing the smiles PACER brings to the faces of the children who visit Parliament House and re-enact Parliamentary sittings themselves. It’s been a thrill today to celebrate the one millionth student milestone with a school from my home state.

Emigrate to Australia: 1m students visit Canberra

“As a Senator for South Australia, it’s great to see students from my home state here at Parliament House experiencing and learning first-hand about Australia’s Federal Parliament.

“For a program to support student visits to Parliament House and the Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House, and to experience places like the National Electoral Education Centre and the Australian War Memorial is a remarkable legacy.”

More than $46 million has been provided in rebates for over 19,000 school visits to the national capital since the PACER program commenced in 2006-2007.

The rebate ranges from $20 to $260 per student, depending on distance from Canberra, and is provided as a contribution to assist with travel costs.

All PACER-supported schools visit Parliament House, the Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House, and/or the National Electoral Education Centre and the Australian War Memorial.

Click here for tourist information about Canberra: Visit Canberra

Want to live and work Down Under? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for expert help with Study Visas: Student Visas in Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy