Emigrate to Australia: emergency crews honoured • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Thu 11:26AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:26AM Thu22°
Melbourne11:26AM Thu16°
Brisbane10:26AM Thu23°
Perth8:26AM Thu23°
Adelaide10:56AM Thu
Hobart11:26AM Thu20°
Canberra11:26AM Thu19°
Darwin9:56AM Thu30°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Emigrate to Australia: emergency crews honoured

17 October 2016 by News Desk

Emigrate to Australia where emergency workers were honoured for of their response to a series of recent severe weather events

Emigrate to AustraliaEmigrate to Australia where The Moreton Bay Regional SES Unit took out the Regional Operational Response of the Year award in recognition of their response to recent severe events and searches.

SES Regional Manager Steve Waddell presented the awards and said the Moreton Bay Regional SES Unit had consistently been involved in activations for storm damage, flood and recovery events, missing person searches on land and in waterways and in operational coordination and management work.

“In particular, the unit demonstrated exceptional dedication to the timely management of requests for assistance following a high wind event in June this year,” Mr Waddell said.

“Their response to the community in their time in need was outstanding and it’s great to see the unit recognised for their dedication and hard work.”

Brisbane City SES Group Leader Nick Dunn received the prestigious Regional Member of the Year award for his tireless work improving the capability and capacity of the SES and SES membership through leadership, innovation and advice.

“In addition to his core SES work, Nick has contributed to SES life in a major way by driving new capability, engagement and promoting a healthy lifestyle for SES members by setting up the Brisbane SES lifestyle network,” Mr Waddell said.

“His leadership across the Brisbane City SES Unit reaches into other units and for this, he is worthy of this award.”

Emigrate to Australia: emergency crews honoured

The Brisbane City SES Unit took out the Regional Unit of the Year award.

“The Brisbane City SES Unit has been extremely busy this year. In between operations they implemented the first year of their leadership plan and delivered four major exercises,” Mr Waddell said.

“It’s great to recognise Brisbane City SES Unit members for their commitment and enthusiasm toward continuous improvement of service delivery, executed through enhanced leadership, innovation, training, culture and teamwork.”

Mr Waddell said the SES Week awards provided an opportunity for the community to recognise the exceptional achievements of SES volunteers across the region.

“SES Week (15 October – 23 October) is a national celebration to acknowledge the dedication and commitment of the remarkable people of the SES who give up their time to assist the community,” he said.

“It is thanks to the hard work and outstanding efforts of volunteers that the SES continues to be a dependable and valuable service.”

SES Week certificates were also presented to volunteers who displayed exceptional dedication to their communities.

Volunteers who received Regional SES Week awards were:

Michelle Delebet – Brisbane Metro SES Group
Helen MacRonald – Brisbane Western SES Group
Victoria Harris – Brisbane North Eastern SES Group
Lucie Ayotte – Brisbane Western SES Group
Scott Grant – Brisbane Eastern SES Group
Gary Barber – Southern Moreton Bay Islands SES Group
Christopher Evans – Stradbroke Island SES Group
Michael Carriage – Arana Hills SES Group
Daniel Draper – Petrie SES Group
Julie-Anne Jacobson – Petrie SES Group

Want to Emigrate to Australia ? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy