Emigrate to Australia: $23bn UK-Australia trade deal • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 8:46PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:46PM Mon23°
Melbourne8:46PM Mon18°
Brisbane7:46PM Mon24°
Perth5:46PM Mon23°
Adelaide8:16PM Mon24°
Hobart8:46PM Mon16°
Canberra8:46PM Mon25°
Darwin7:16PM Mon31°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Emigrate to Australia: $23bn UK-Australia trade deal

02 December 2016 by News Desk

Emigrate to Australia where top UK and Australian government ministers met in Canberra to discuss free trade after Brexit.

Emigrate to AustraliaEmigrate to Australia where both governments are committed to strengthening economic links between the UK and Australia.

Both Ministers reaffirmed their commitment to grow the already strong trading links of goods and services, worth $23.2 billion every year.

The ministers held productive discussions on the parameters of a future ambitious Australia-UK free trade agreement once the UK leaves the EU.

Steven Ciobo, Australian Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment, said: “The business communities in Australia and the UK share the desire of governments to build a positive and forward looking relationship that maximises the opportunities for expanded trade and investment that will promote growth and jobs.”

UK International Trade Minister, Lord Price, said: “The UK and Australia share a strong commitment to global trade liberalisation and we will continue to work with other like-minded partners to be at the forefront of championing the global benefits of open markets and free trade.

“The discussions have reaffirmed our commitment to boosting trade relations between our countries and taken forward preparation on joint work to explore a future ambitious trade agreement once the UK has left the EU.

“I look forward to the Working Group advancing this agenda, and the Secretary of State’s visit next year will be an opportunity to keep up the momentum on this important work.

Emigrate to Australia: $23bn UK-Australia trade deal

Australian minister Steven Ciobo, said: “We have a strong platform to build on. The UK is Australia’s second largest source of total foreign investment, and a major trade partner.

“At a time when the outlook for global growth is uncertain, it makes sense for us to seize this opportunity to put our future economic relationship on the strongest possible future footing.”

UK Secretary of State for International Trade Dr Liam Fox will travel to Australia early in 2017 to progress a free trade deal.

Want to emigrate to Australia? Click here for expert help: Skilled Migration to Australia

Want to get a job Down Under? Click here for expert help: How to Get a Job in Australia

Click here for expert help with travel visas: Travel Visas to Australia

Click here for expert help with Study Visas: Student Visas in Australia

Click here for tourist information about Australia: Visit Australia



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy