COVID-19 Positive Signs • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 6:29AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney6:29AM Fri14°
Melbourne6:29AM Fri
Brisbane6:29AM Fri15°
Perth4:29AM Fri15°
Adelaide5:59AM Fri
Hobart6:29AM Fri
Canberra6:29AM Fri
Darwin5:59AM Fri25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

COVID-19 Positive Signs

30 June 2020 by News Desk

COVID-19: Australians are poised to start spending again as lockdown restrictions ease, according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

A majority or people polled in a national survey expected to increase their spending on recreational activities (74 per cent), eating out (74 per cent), private transport (73 per cent), personal care (70 per cent), childcare (66 per cent) and public transport (55 per cent).

The ABS’s survey was conducted mid-June and asked about domestic and international travel intentions, as well as how soon people intended to travel after restrictions were lifted.

More than half (55 per cent) were planning to go on a domestic holiday while less than a third (29 per cent) were planning an international holiday.

Of those planning a domestic holiday, 20 per cent intended to go within the following month and a further two thirds (68 per cent) within the following six months. Those planning international travel were more likely to intend to travel within six to 12 months (44 per cent) or later (31 per cent).

The sixth Household Impacts of COVID-19 Survey found that people who had spent less on items including household furnishings, clothing and footwear expected this to remain at lower levels.

ABS head of Household Surveys, Michelle Marquardt, said: “This survey showed us a mixed picture of what Australians plan to spend their money on once restrictions ease.

“Many Australians reported decreased spending on eating out (87 per cent), child care fees (85 per cent), recreation or leisure (79 per cent), public transport (73 per cent) and personal care (64 per cent).

“On the other hand, the majority of Australians who had reduced expenditure on household furnishings (72 per cent) and clothing and footwear (52 per cent) expected to continue to spend lower amounts on these items as COVID-19 restrictions ease.”

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy