COVID-19 Lockdown Saved 14,000 Lives • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Tue 7:32AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney7:32AM Tue15°
Melbourne7:32AM Tue
Brisbane7:32AM Tue16°
Perth5:32AM Tue
Adelaide7:02AM Tue
Hobart7:32AM Tue
Canberra7:32AM Tue
Darwin7:02AM Tue25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

COVID-19 Lockdown Saved 14,000 Lives

03 June 2020 by News Desk

COVID-19 Lockdown worked down under. Around 14,000 lives were saved in Australia by social distancing, mass testing and border restrictions.

Chief Medical Officer Brendan Murphy said social-distancing measures; border restrictions and an “aggressive public health response” had saved thousands of lives.

Human trials for a US coronavirus vaccine have begun in Melbourne. Biotech company Novavax has partnered with Australian Nucleus Network for the trial that will involve 131 healthy participants. The COVID-19 vaccine, made in the US, has already been successfully tested on animals.

The World Health Organisation suspended testing the malaria drug hydroxychloroquine in COVID-19 patients due to safety concerns.

COVID-19: back to work

A nationwide survey found that one in three Australians expects to be working from home more after the pandemic. But 70 per cent said they couldn’t work from home without hi-speed Internet.

A separate poll of newspaper readers found that 10% wanted to return to working in the office, while 60% said they would rather wait until it was safe to do so.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy