COVID-19 Lifestyle Changes • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 4:44AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney4:44AM Fri14°
Melbourne4:44AM Fri
Brisbane4:44AM Fri15°
Perth2:44AM Fri16°
Adelaide4:14AM Fri
Hobart4:44AM Fri
Canberra4:44AM Fri
Darwin4:14AM Fri26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

COVID-19 Lifestyle Changes

22 May 2020 by News Desk

COVID-19 Lifestyle Changes in Australia have seen more people turn into coach potatoes watching more TV and eating more snacks.

One in five Australians (22%) said ion the past 4 weeks they were eating more snack foods such as chips, lollies, and biscuits; and

Three in five Australians (58%) reported more time spent in front of their television, computer, phone, or other device.

COVID-19 Consumption habits

The survey asked respondents if their consumption of selected products had changed over the period early-April to early-May due to COVID-19, and if so, how it had changed. These include:

Fruit and vegetables;
Take-away or delivered meals;
Snack foods;
Alcohol; and Vitamins, minerals or other supplements.

One in five Australians (22%) said they were eating more snack foods such as chips, lollies, and biscuits.

A similar proportion of Australians reported an increase in alcohol consumption (14%) and fruit and vegetable consumption (13%), while one in ten (10%) reported taking more vitamins, minerals or other supplements.

The product category that experienced the largest decrease in consumption was take-away or delivered meals, with 29% of Australians reporting less frequent consumption over this period due to COVID-19.

COVID-19 Lifestyle Activities

The survey also asked respondents if their participation in certain activities had increased, decreased or stayed the same, as a way to cope with COVID-19 restrictions during the period early-April to early-May. These included:

Household chores;
Time with pets;
Exercise of other physical activity;
Online shopping/spending;
Personal screen time;
Hobbies; and
Cooking or baking

Changes to personal screen time was the most widely reported change, with three in five Australians (58%) increasing their participation in screen-based activities involving a television, computer, phone, or other device.

Other activities that many Australians increased their participation in during this period include:

Household chores, gardening, yard work, projects or renovations (41% increased their participation);
Hobbies e.g. art, craft, board games, puzzles, video games or reading (39% increased their participation); and
Cooking or baking (38% increased their participation) – including half of women (48%) and around a quarter of men (28%).

While roughly half of all Australians (54%) reported no change to their levels of participation in exercise or other physical activity, one in four (25%) increased their level of exercise or other physical activity, and one in five (20%) decreased their level of exercise or other physical activity.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy