COVID-19 job losses slow • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 11:48PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:48PM Fri17°
Melbourne11:48PM Fri12°
Brisbane11:48PM Fri20°
Perth9:48PM Fri16°
Adelaide11:18PM Fri
Hobart11:48PM Fri17°
Canberra11:48PM Fri10°
Darwin11:18PM Fri25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

COVID-19 job losses slow

20 May 2020 by News Desk

COVID-19 job losses are slowing down across Australia as effects of the coronavirus emergency begin to ease.

Over the seven weeks from mid-March to early May, total payroll jobs fell by 7.3 per cent, according to the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

“The latest data shows a further slowing in the fall in COVID-19 job losses between mid-April and early May,” said Bjorn Jarvis, Head of Labour Statistics at the ABS.

“The largest net job losses over the seven weeks of the COVID-19 period, in percentage terms, were in Victoria and New South Wales, where the falls in payroll jobs were around 8.4 per cent and 7.7 per cent.”

“Payroll jobs worked by people under 20 continued to show the largest falls (-14.6 per cent), and were particularly high in some states and territories, such as the Australian Capital Territory (-19.2 per cent).”

In addition to the fall in total jobs slowing, some industries were now showing a reduced impact in the most recent weeks.

“The Accommodation and food services industry had lost around a third of payroll jobs (33.3 per cent) by the week ending 11 April, and a subsequent increase in jobs saw this reduce to around 27.1 per cent by the week ending 2 May,” Mr Jarvis said.

“The week-to-week changes are much smaller than they were early in the COVID-19 period. The decrease in the number of jobs in the week ending 2 May was 1.1 per cent, which was only slightly larger than the 0.9 per cent increase in the week ending 25 April,” Mr Jarvis said.

COVID-19 Job Losses – Timeline

Between the week ending 14 March 2020 (the week Australia recorded its 100th confirmed COVID-19 case) and the week ending 2 May 2020:

Payroll jobs decreased by 7.3%

Total wages paid decreased by 5.4%

Between the week ending 25 April 2020 and the week ending 2 May 2020:

Payroll jobs decreased by 1.1%, compared to an increase of 0.9% in the previous week

Total wages paid increased by 0.9%, compared to an increase of 0.5% in the previous week

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry

Check out our news page for daily updates https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy