Coronavirus Growth Falls 50% • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 10:27PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:27PM Fri18°
Melbourne10:27PM Fri13°
Brisbane10:27PM Fri21°
Perth8:27PM Fri17°
Adelaide9:57PM Fri
Hobart10:27PM Fri18°
Canberra10:27PM Fri12°
Darwin9:57PM Fri26°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Coronavirus Growth Falls 50%

03 April 2020 by News Desk

Coronavirus growth in Australia may now have fallen by 50% according to new scientific forecasts.

Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison urged Aussies to stay at home during Easter, saying that social-distancing measures taken by Australians had cut the projected growth rate of the virus in half.

Australia has entered a “new phase” of virus suppression, he said.

Infection growth of COVID-19 across Australia is at single-digit levels, with the government planning to release updated modelling of the virus early next week.

But while Australia’s trajectory is promising, Chief Medical Officer Brendan Murphy said the true number of global coronavirus cases was likely to be “five or ten times higher” than the 1 million cases so far recorded.

Australia’s death toll hit 28 and there are 5330 known infections in Australia with 2389 in NSW.

Coronavirus Social Distancing

Premier Gladys Berejiklian said community transmissions with no known source were a key concern and said social distancing measures could be in place in NSW for more than six months.

Across the state, 75,000 small cafes, restaurants and gyms will soon be able to apply for $10,000 grants, while an emergency meeting of parliament next week will pass legislation for the $1500-a-fortnight job subsidy for workers.

The national cabinet agreed to a mandatory code to address financial distress among commercial landlords and tenants with a turnover of less than 50 million

Federal parliament will resume on Wednesday with only the quorum of MPs needed to pass legislation for workers to receive a $1500 fortnightly job subsidy from May

The Premier said the number of new cases continued to stabilise

If you’re seeking a new life Down Under contact us today to find out about employer-sponsored jobs and working visas. Go to: https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/jobs

Check out our news page for daily updates
https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy