Coronavirus Australia Update • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Fri 11:28PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney11:28PM Fri17°
Melbourne11:28PM Fri12°
Brisbane11:28PM Fri20°
Perth9:28PM Fri16°
Adelaide10:58PM Fri
Hobart11:28PM Fri17°
Canberra11:28PM Fri10°
Darwin10:58PM Fri25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Coronavirus Australia Update

10 April 2020 by News Desk

Coronavirus Australia: the number of confirmed cases Down Under is now over 6000 with the death toll over 50.

Community transmissions are still the greatest concern but the state governments such as NSW are now better prepared after doubling the number of ICU beds to 1000.

Coronavirus restrictions in NSW will be reviewed on a monthly basis, but distancing measures like the 1.5m rule will remain in place until a vaccine is developed

There will be strict measures controlling movement this Easter long weekend, including the use of number plate recognition technology and compulsory temperature tests for all shoppers at the popular Sydney Fish Markets

Coronavirus Australia Update

An emergency meeting of Parliament was held this week to pass the $130 billion JobKeeper package. Over 730,000 business in Australia have applied for the government support that aims to help firms that are struggling during the lockdown emergency.

Federal Treasurer Josh Frydenberg said the JobKeeper wage subsidy would only be rolled back “when it is safe to do so”. The wage support was initially put in place for six-months but may be extended.

Small to medium-sized businesses across the country will access reduced rent under a new commercial tenancy code, while workers will be protected by new safeguards announced in the wake of the $130 billion JobKeeper program.

Consumer confidence staged its biggest one-week jump (10.1%) in history on the back of the $130 billion wage subsidy plan.

Two-thirds of businesses have suffered a hit to their cash flow while almost half have changed their workforces due to the pandemic

Australia’s cyber spy agency launched a major offensive targeting coronavirus-related cyber attacks by offshore foreign criminal groups.

Two federal MPs urged that Julian Assange be released from a prison where infections have been discovered and moved to house arrest

Federal Education Minister Dan Tehan has confirmed that all year 12 students would finish their secondary education this year.

US President Donald Trump said he would put a hold on US funding to the World Health Organisation saying, “they missed the call” on the coronavirus pandemic.

Are you thinking about living and working in Australia? Contact us today – send us your CV, fill out our ‘helpline’ form and we will provide an express eligibility assessment free of charge.

https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/migration/eligibility-enquiry/

Check out our news page for daily updates
https://www.thinkingaustralia.com/news



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy