Canberra lights up night sky • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 8:02AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney8:02AM Mon20°
Melbourne8:02AM Mon17°
Brisbane7:02AM Mon23°
Perth5:02AM Mon21°
Adelaide7:32AM Mon
Hobart8:02AM Mon14°
Canberra8:02AM Mon14°
Darwin6:32AM Mon28°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Canberra lights up night sky

25 September 2015 by News Desk

canberra_nightFestThe night sky above Canberra in Australia will be lit up this week with 100,000 lights during the annual Floriade NightFest.

During the spectacular week-long event Canberra’s Commonwealth Park will play host to a stunning night-time display of colour aimed at showing off the park’s famous flower beds with a range of innovative artistic illuminations.

Over 100,000 light bulbs, including 1,500 handmade lanterns have been installed across the park to transform the garden beds into a sea of lights. It’s taken a month to construct the displays.

A major feature of this year’s event is a giant mirrored flower surrounded by 48 searchlights in Narang Pool. Along with the light installations, Nightfest will also feature a host of entertainment events such as comedy acts, circus acts, UV Dance party and a silent disco (sounds good!) Around 35,000 visitors are expected to attend Nightfest this year.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy