Canberra in vital Pluto role • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Sun 10:42PM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney10:42PM Sun17°
Melbourne10:42PM Sun14°
Brisbane10:42PM Sun18°
Perth8:42PM Sun15°
Adelaide10:12PM Sun
Hobart10:42PM Sun14°
Canberra10:42PM Sun
Darwin10:12PM Sun25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Canberra in vital Pluto role

16 July 2015 by News Desk

plutoScientists in Canberra, Australia are playing a key role in the New Horizons Pluto mission.

A space centre in Canberra is a transfer station for images and data being beamed back from NASA’s New Horizons satellite that is passing the distant planet. The satellite is 5.3 billion kilometres away and is now at the start of a 16 month process to beam back a decade’s worth of saved data from its journey.

Canberra’s Deep Space Communication Complex at Tidbinbilla is playing a vital role in the mission, with a high-power transmission to Pluto that takes over four hours to reach the satellite as it passes Pluto.

The data will help scientists answer questions about the composition, density and temperature of Pluto’s atmosphere. Each image takes 40 minutes to arrive back on earth. The Tidbinbilla complex will then relay the images and data to the US.



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy