Canberra comes alive in winter • Are you thinking Australia? | thinkingaustralia |
Local:
Sydney: Mon 12:25AM
Select Destination
Location Time Temp
Sydney12:25AM Mon16°
Melbourne12:25AM Mon13°
Brisbane12:25AM Mon19°
Perth10:25PM Sun14°
Adelaide11:55PM Sun
Hobart12:25AM Mon15°
Canberra12:25AM Mon
Darwin11:55PM Sun25°

news

Get our help FREE advice or find service providers with our ozdirectory

Canberra comes alive in winter

23 July 2015 by News Desk

travel_canberraThere is no shortage of fun to enjoy in Canberra this winter, with over 35 exciting and engaging events being staged around the city.

Embrace winter with a wonderful array of warming events, frosty fun activities and indulgent dining. It is the perfect time to snuggle up in front of a fire with a big glass of Canberra District cool climate wine during events like the month-long Fireside Festival.

Winter is a great time for foodies, with the annual Truffle Festival Canberra Region providing magnificent black Perigord truffles and a variety of memorable dining experiences.

When there’s snow on the hills surrounding Canberra, the perfect spot to capture some wintery fun is at the Corin Forest Mountain Resort.

You can also take a welcome break in Canberra on your way to or from Kosciuszko National Park and the NSW snowfield resorts of Thredbo, Perisher Blue, Mount Selwyn and Charlotte Pass.

In winter, Corin Forest transforms into an alpine winter wonderland, the perfect setting for Canberra’s only snow experience with snow play. Build a snowman, go tobogganing and start a snowball fight at Corin Forest in the Tidbinbilla Mountain Ranges, a 45-minute drive from central Canberra.

Experience the beauty of winter in the heart of Canberra on an open air ice skating rink for Skate in the City. This month-long event features dress up nights for the whole family, markets with food and kid’s activities, and ‘come and try days’ for ice hockey and broom ball. Kids will also love playing in the snow box in Garema Place.

Be amazed on an afterDARK Lantern Tour of the Australian National Botanic Gardens. Take part in a lantern making workshop before setting out on a fascinating night tour of the gardens with your own ranger guide; what a wonderful way to spend a winter evening in the nation’s capital.

Discover the magic of black truffles at the Truffle Festival Canberra Region. The Canberra and capital region celebrates the local harvest of these highly prized gems with more than 250 events ranging from truffle hunts and cooking classes to indulgent degustation dinners.

For full details of events, go to: visitcanberra.com.au



We use cookies on Thinking Australia

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Please confirm permission to use cookies. Cookie Policy Privacy policy